Daughters

Daughters
written November 2012

I.

Across from me,
an acquaintance mentions
she just learned
‘women are attracted to men
because they know men can give them babies,’
as she winks at me
awkwardly.

II.

Last January,
I put my life in the hands
of a doctor with a warm smile,
who demonstrated how
my very own womb could be
sucked up and out of
my own little
bellybutton.

III.

My daughter would have had
a dimpled nose
and curly brown locks of hair
coupled by cancerous genes
and mild manic episodes –
in any and every case,
she would be
magnificent.
3 responses to “Daughters

Leave a Reply

